featured photo: black and white

Because I am constantly working to improve my photography/camera skills and have almost no Photoshop knowledge, I rarely attempt much editing. However, I admit there are times that a perfectly boring photo is just more interesting in black and white. For instance, the original of the photo below is one I would consider a throw away. There is not much going on and although the color is fine, it’s not vivid enough to grab my attention. But, once the photo is edited to black and white, I think it deserves a second look. The rather dull scene transforms into one that evokes feelings of solitude and even desolation.

Maybe one of these days I will actually give black and white photography a try. Until then, I am thankful that Photoshop Elements (with a little PicMonkey flair) makes it easy to do some simple editing when the fancy strikes.

California_0130_editedpic.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

