april is bluer in texas

Maybe it’s because I am not a native Texan, but I don’t totally understand the Lone Star State ego that has resulted in slogans such as “everything is bigger in Texas” and “don’t mess with Texas.” However, even I cannot deny that April is a great month to live in Texas because of the wild bluebonnets that appear all over the state. In honor of this, I decided to make a bluebonnet inspired card for this month’s craft.

photo 1-1 photo 2-1

For this project, I used the following supplies: 9″ x 6″ green cardstock, 5″ x 3.75″ accent paper, 4.25″ x 2.75″ white paper, 1/2 inch stencil brush, foam brush, white paint Sharpie, green colored pencil, blue ink pad, 3/8 inch ribbon (cut in half) and jewel embellishment.

To make the bluebonnets, I blotted the paintbrush into the ink pad approximately  10 times and then repeated onto the paper. In order to create the pseudo-watercolor effect, I then swirled the tip of the foam brush over the blue circle to blend out the color. Lastly, I used the white paint pen to make imperfect circles in the middle of each blue petal.

 

 

Leave a Reply

