two green thumbs up: avocado brownies

Typically, I am not someone who is willing to add anything green to my sweet treats. No spinach or kale smoothies for me despite the health benefits. But, I have to say that I was intrigued with the idea of avocado brownies. Apparently adding avocado to brownies makes them wonderfully gooey and they can be better for you, depending on the recipe.

For my avocado brownies experiment, I chose a recipe that is not particularly healthy because I wanted to determine if the avocado would help make regular brownies better. And, I have to say that the result was fantastic. The brownies turned out deliciously fudgy and you cannot taste the avocado at all.

20140330-221501.jpg

I used this Fudgy Avocado Brownies recipe. The recipe calls for 2 large avocados and it took almost 3 small avocados to get the desired amount. I definitey recommend using a food processor to mash the avocados. I used a 10 oz. bag of Ghiradelli 60% Cacao chocolate chips instead of chopping dark chocolate and added the remaining 2 oz. to the batter before baking.

Here are a couple other recipes that you might want to consider, especially if looking for a healthier option…

Dr. Oz Protein-Packed Avocado Brownies

TGIPaleo Avocado Brownies

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

