how do you like them (pink lady) apples?

As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I have been making a serious effort to try new things. I didn’t really intend for the sentiment to become a New Year’s Resolution, but it has rather ended up that way. So far, the most dramatic result has been my decision to revamp my blog, thus the “a year in color” idea.

Another result has been my sudden and very unexpected obsession with apples. I know that I sometimes ate apples growing up, but I never really loved them. My mother often served them with cinnamon and sugar to coerce me into eating them.

In an attempt to change up my usual fruit selections, I recently bought a couple of Fuji apples with the expectation that I would probably have to force them down. However, I was shocked to discover that I actually do like some apples that aren’t the traditional Red Delicious variety.

Although I now enjoy several varieties of apples (like Braeburn, Fuji and Gala), one of my new favorites is definitely Pink Lady. They are crisp and sweet but still a little bit tart. As much as my opinion of apples has improved, I still love a good dip for my apple slices. See below for a quick and delicious dip recipe that tastes great with all apple varieties (adapted from a recipe found here).

Greek Yogurt Apple Dip (83 calories per serving; makes 3 servings)

  • 1 5.3 oz container nonfat vanilla greek yogurt (I prefer Dannon Oikos brand)
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
3 thoughts on “how do you like them (pink lady) apples?

  1. Mmmmmm…hat dip sounds delicious!
    How wonderful that your taste in apples is branching out (pun intended) 😉 My favorites are Honeycrisp and Macoun, although I have yet to find a Macoun in my area. If you like Pink Ladys definitely give these a try!
    I love your blog!

  2. I have tried that dip before… it’s delicious! And I agree with Emily… Honeycrisp apples are the very best! (Although they are also very expensive!)

Leave a Reply

