oh so soft and chewy peanut butter cookies

I have always been obsessed with peanut butter, so it is no surprise that my go-to cookie is peanut butter. And, over the years I have found that the only peanut butter cookies I really like are homemade because any I purchase are dry and crunchy. Why is that? Does anyone actually like crunchy peanut butter cookies?

Since I have been asked for my recipe so many times, I decided to share it with you all. This recipe is one I have been using forever, probably from one of my mother’s classic cookbooks. Although the ingredients have stayed the same, I have made adjustments on the preparation over time and they turn out great every time. This batch was made with natural peanut butter, so they have a slightly different texture and appearance than I prefer. I recommend creamy Peter Pan peanut butter for best results.

Peanut Butter Cookies

1 1/4 cup all purpose flour

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup butter or margarine

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 egg

Stir together flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside. In a large bowl, beat butter for 30 seconds. Add peanut butter and both sugars; beat with mixer until light and fluffy.

Add egg and vanilla; beat well. Slowly add dry ingredients to peanut butter mixture and mix until well combined. Refrigerate dough for 15-30 minutes to make it easier to work with. Shape into 1 inch balls and roll in sugar. Place on cookie sheet.

Bake at 375 for approximately 8 minutes – you want the cookies to be slightly undercooked. Leave on cookie sheet for 3-4 minutes for cookies to finish baking and set. Place cookies on cooling rack. Recipe makes approximately 2 dozen cookies.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “oh so soft and chewy peanut butter cookies

  1. I’m with you – chewy cookies, of all types – are much better than crunchy, dry-as-bone cookies. Thanks for your peanut butter cookie recipe…I’m a new blogger, and you are one of the first sites I am following. Hope you’ll drop on by and visit me at sunshinefactor.wordpress.com. 🙂

Leave a Reply

