weekly photo challenge: close

For this week’s challenge, I obviously considered taking shots in macro of flowers or maybe a bird or insect. But, instead, I am focusing more on the topic and less on the photography. So, here is a photo I took of a painting that my parents bought for me in Paris years ago. Having no artistic talent myself, I am always amazed at what some people can create with a blank canvas and paintbrush. Although I am not very knowledgeable about art, I can say that I am partial to the impressionist style. Particularly, I find it fascinating that unlike most things in life, the closer you are to the subject, the less detailed it appears.

But, I guess life can resemble my Parisian painting in that way. When I let myself get too close, too wrapped up in the details of an issue or problem, all I can see are the blobs of paint. Sometimes I just need to take a few steps back to see things more clearly. And, who knows… once I obtain a healthier perspective, maybe the blobs will start to look like a Monet.

Leave a Reply

