character is in the try

I turned to ESPN Classic earlier for probably the first time in my life. And, no, I wasn’t watching reruns of the greatest Super Bowl moments. Instead, I caught the last part of an episode from the final season of Friday Night Lights. Although that season isn’t my favorite, it does contain one of the most memorable Coach Taylor moments and I happened to flip channels just in time.

In this particular scene, Vince (troubled youth turned star quarterback) asks Coach Taylor how anyone can expect him to be “better” when he didn’t have a father around to teach him how. And, Coach Taylor responds, “I said you need to strive to be better than everyone else. I didn’t say you needed to be better than everyone else. But, you gotta try. That’s what character is. It’s in the try.”

Apart from Kyle Chandler’s brilliant delivery, I think there is a lot of wisdom in that little speech. Obviously the idea isn’t new, but there really is something to it. I know that I tend to get caught up in the success or failure of my actions. And, the fear of failure makes me hesitant to attempt anything without at least a 98% guarantee of success. So, with all due respect to Master Yoda, life is in the try. Clearly, I won’t always succeed, but I have to keep striving to do better, be better. Thank you FNL for reminding me.

Clear Eyes, Full Hearts, Can’t Lose.

One thought on “character is in the try

  1. Oh my dear Heather: the things we have in common 🙂 I love this post–not only because I love the opportunity to read what circles about in your beautiful head, but also because it preaches to my own fears a call for repentance. There are so many things I want to do ( wish I could do, wish I had done, etc. ) and don’t mostly because of fear of not being good enough. I tend to talk myself out of creative ambitions with the excuse that I wouldn’t be any good anyway or that I just don’t have the time… Which, currently, I really don’t! But in the future when I am not totally sleep deprived and elbow deep in diapers I hope to take this new wisdom you have imparted, give it hands and feet, and try.

Leave a Reply

