through lens colored glasses

I have a feeling that you will get tired of me talking about photography and how I continue to be shocked by my interest in it.  That being said, I have to mention that I continue to be amazed by my interest in photography.  I have been in Wichita the last few days and went to the Sedgwick County Zoo with my parents and brother yesterday.  I have spent a lot of time at the zoo over the years, but I can’t say that I usually consider it a particularly thrilling destination.  Maybe it has something to do with the rather desolate landscape?

But, I discovered a new appreciation of the zoo yesterday while peering through my camera lens.  Instead of letting myself be distracted by the lack of trees and the unrelenting winds of the plains, I really looked at the animals I was photographing.  And, I saw details that I had never noticed – like the zebra’s crazy whiskers and the way that the tiger’s pink tongue and bright orange nose seem to contradict its predatory gaze.  Although these aren’t exactly earth-shattering observations, I am happy to find that it is possible to be surprised by the seemingly mundane.  Who knew that all I had to do was look through lens colored glasses?

     

Leave a Reply

